Representing Virginia and Out-of-State Motorists
Most people believe that an individual must be operating a vehicle in an excessively dangerous manner to be charged with reckless driving. However, this is not always the case.
In Virginia, driving over 85 miles per hour is considered reckless driving, regardless of the posted speed. As such, if you are cruising 15 miles over the Interstate I-95 speed limit of 70, you can be cited for reckless driving.
If you’ve been charged with reckless driving in Greensville County, you may wonder if your license is in jeopardy, potentially compromising your ability to get to drive or work, or whether you may face jail time. You might also be concerned as to whether you might need to disclose a reckless driving conviction on future employment applications. Our firm and attorneys are available not only to answer these and any other questions that you might have, but importantly to represent you in fighting a reckless driving charge.
How We Help Those Charged with Reckless Driving
- A free consult, so that you can ask questions and learn how we can help
- Fixed fees – you won’t need to be concerned with not knowing how much your legal representation might cost
- 24/7 service – you can contact our firm at any time to speak to a firm representative to get started
- Court Appearance Representation – we are usually able to appear in court on behalf of clients contesting their ticket, so in all likelihood you will not need to appear in court (which can be highly beneficial if you don’t live in Virginia, or if you don’t want to take time off from a job to appear in court)
- Credit card acceptance – we offer the convenience of paying by credit card if you would like to do so
Call or Contact Us Today to Get Started!
At The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt, we understand these concerns, and we will work vigorously to have your charges reduced or dismissed, and to protect your rights. As an Interstate I-95 Emporia reckless driving lawyer, firm founder Mark Hurt has over three decades of experience in protecting the rights of clients, and he knows how to battle these and other types of traffic charges successfully. If you were issued a citation for reckless driving, please call us to schedule a free consult and to learn how we can seek to have your charges lessened or dismissed.
What Is Considered Reckless Driving in Virginia?
It can be relatively easy for a driver to operate a vehicle recklessly. Under Virginia law, an individual can be found guilty of recklessly operating an automobile if they drive on the highway:
- at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more over the applicable maximum speed limit; or
- in excess of eighty-five miles per hour (regardless of the speed limit).
Most, if not all, drivers have driven fifteen miles over the speed limit at some point. On Virginia highways and interstates, where the posted speed limit is 70 miles per hour, drivers often unknowingly reach this threshold and end up with charges that have lasting consequences. This is especially the case on Interstate I-95, where Emporia police routinely issue reckless driving and speeding citations.
Emporia (and Greensville County) Can Be a Speed Trap
Located in Greensville County, Emporia is the home of around 6,000 people. Heavily travelled I-95 cuts through the Northwest section of the city, while Highway 58 bisects the city in the Northwest to Southeast direction. Prior to entering Emporia, drivers come from a largely rural area with higher speed limits. When speeds decrease, drivers may inadvertently not slow down.
Additionally, these two highways are often highly patrolled by the police, who are on the lookout for speeders and others who are not fully complying with the rules of the road. While the police are there to help motorists when crashes occur, a big part of their job is issuing tickets. As speeding ticket and reckless driving attorneys, we are well familiar with the frequency of which tickets are written in Greensville County.
What are the Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia?
In Virginia, a reckless driving charge is a class I misdemeanor. If convicted, an individual may be assessed the following penalties:
- Monetary Fines
- Increased Insurance Premiums
- Suspension or Revocation of Driver’s License and Privileges
- Jail Sentence
The maximum penalties for reckless driving in Virginia include:
- One year in jail
- 6-month suspension of driver’s license
- 6 points on a Virginia driving record
- $2,500 fine
What Happens If I Am Convicted of Reckless Driving or Excessive Speeding in Virginia?
When an individual is convicted of a traffic violation, the court notifies the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV does the following:
- Posts the conviction to the driver’s record
- Assigns demerit points based on the severity of the offense
- Issues an order suspending a license (if applicable)
- Issues an order requiring a driver’s improvement clinic
- Notifies insurance companies
Charges can stay on a driving record for significant lengths of time, potentially affecting insurance rates, the ability to obtain transportation jobs, and many other aspects of life. Thus, it is vital to do everything possible to avoid a conviction. Mark Hurt has helped numerous clients negotiate lessened charges, avoid convictions, save their driving records, and avoid costly fines.
How Long Will a Conviction Stay on My Record?
The length of time that a conviction stays on a driving record depends on the severity of a violation. For example, a charge of driving too fast for conditions or driving over 85 miles per hour will be reported for eleven years; whereas, driving without a driver’s license or failing to obey a highway sign will only stay on a record for three years. In some instances, such as driving under the influence in a commercial vehicle, a conviction will permanently remain on a driving record. As a result, we believe that in most cases it will be highly advantageous for those charged with reckless driving to retain experienced counsel who can fight the reckless driving charge.
What Are Demerit Points?
The DMV assesses demerit points when an individual is convicted of a traffic violation. The points remain valid for two years from the date an offense is committed. Points can quickly add up, creating substantial issues for drivers. Each time a traffic offense is committed, the DMV adds additional demerit points to a record, leading to steep, increased penalties for subsequent charges.
Conversely, the DMV also awards safe driving points for each full calendar year in which a Virginia driver does not have traffic violations. Safe driving points can also be earned by completing a driver improvement clinic. A maximum of five safe driving points can be accumulated, helping to offset demerits.
Contact Experienced Greensville County Reckless Driving Lawyer Mark Hurt Today!
Reckless driving convictions can come with significant fines and even jail time. Additionally, other ancillary consequences can include increased insurance premiums, demerit points, and a criminal record. However, judges have the discretion to reduce reckless driving to a lesser charge, such as improper driving, which only carries a fine up to $500 and ordinarily will be removed from a driving record within three years. As an experienced reckless driving lawyer, Mark Hurt is well-versed in Virginia traffic law and is experienced in negotiating for lesser charges and penalties, as well as a dismissal of charges and fighting charges at trial.
If you have been cited for reckless driving, call our office to schedule a complimentary consultation. Emporia reckless driving lawyer Mark Hurt can examine the facts and circumstances of your case, help develop the strongest legal defense possible, and seek to obtain a dismissal, lesser charges, reduced penalties, or a not guilty outcome.
We hired Mr. Hurt to help settle a worker’s comp injury case for my husband. Mark, Bart, and Mary worked tirelessly to resolve his case and reach a settlement we were pleased with. They were always available to answer questions and returned calls in a timely manner.