Marion has some of the most breathtaking views in the country, along with a charming cultural scene. From Hungry Mother State Park and Mount Rogers National Recreation Area to the Lincoln Theater, Past Time Antique Emporium, and numerous art galleries, the city impeccably combines old-world charm with modern amenities.
Named “America’s Coolest Hometown,” Marion welcomes thousands of visitors each year. Located off Interstate 81, the town is a hot spot for speed traps for unsuspecting residents and visitors who may be issued citations for both speeding and reckless driving.
Reckless driving is a criminal misdemeanor in Virginia, even for first-time offenders, and, in some situations, it is a Class 6 felony. Additionally, those convicted often face some or all of the following penalties:
- Costly fines
- Demerit points on a driving record
- Driver’s license revocation for up to two years
- Increased Insurance Premiums
Because the ramifications of a reckless driving conviction are so steep, we highly encourage drivers to contest tickets, as contesting a ticket may result in dismissal or significantly reduced penalties. At The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt, we can help.
Firm founding attorney Mark Hurt has a reputation for being an aggressive and tenacious litigator with a track record of success in speeding and reckless driving cases. If you received a ticket for reckless driving, call our firm today to schedule a free consultation. We can evaluate the circumstances of your case and explain your legal options for potentially contesting your charges, as well as how we can help you.
We represent residents and visitors of Marion and the surrounding communities, including McMullin, Attoway, Mount Carmel, Atkins, Adwolf, Holston Mill, North Fork, Quebec, Grose Close, Rye Valley, and throughout Southwest Virginia.
What Is Considered Reckless Driving in Marion?
Most people think of reckless driving as engaging in dangerous driving, such as swerving in and out of lanes, tailgating, or traveling at extremely high speeds. However, in Virginia, driving merely 20 miles over the speed limit or more than 85 miles per hour (regardless of the speed limit) is reckless driving. This means that a person driving on a highway with a speed limit of 70 could be cited for reckless driving for exceeding the speed limit by only 15 miles per hour.
In addition to speeding, under Virginia law, reckless driving citation can be issued for a variety of other reasons, including:
- Driving in a manner so as to endanger life, limb, or property of any person
- Failing to give proper signals
- Passing at a railroad grade crossing
- Failing to yield right-of-way
- Aggressive driving
- Driving next to another car in a single lane
- Driving impaired or with an obstructed view
- Driving with faulty brakes or a car that is not under control
- Speeding through parking lots
If an individual is convicted of a reckless driving offense, their license may be suspended for up to two years. In the case of racing, a vehicle can be seized and forfeited to the Commonwealth, meaning the state could take away a vehicle.
If you were cited for reckless driving, we urge you not to gamble with the outcome of your case by representing yourself. Call our firm and take advantage of our free consultation to get answers about your legal options.
In most cases, we are able to appear on behalf of our client in court, so you won’t need to take time off of work or travel to the courthouse.
What Are the Penalties for a Reckless Driving Conviction in Virginia?
Under Virginia law, reckless driving is guilty of a Class 1 Misdemeanor. If an individual drives without a valid driver’s license or causes a fatal accident while recklessly operating a vehicle, they will incur a Class 6 felony. In either case, if convicted of reckless driving, an individual will have a criminal record for life, as Virginia does not allow for expungements (so there is no way to clear a criminal record). This can be highly detrimental in the case of a background check for a potential job.
In addition to a lifelong criminal record, a mandatory minimum fine of $250, a license suspension for up to two years, and jail time may be assessed.
How Much Does a Marion Reckless Driving Lawyer Cost?
At The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt, we provide affordable, fixed-fee representation, and we accept major credit cards. In most instances, we can handle a case without the need for a client to appear in court. This means that you will not have to take time off work or drive back to Marion (if you live out-of-state or in a different county).
How Can Hiring a Virginia Reckless Driving Lawyer Help My Case?
Firm founding attorney and Duke Law graduate Mark Hurt has over 25 years of litigation experience. He regularly appears on behalf of clients before the same prosecutors and judges, so he is familiar with the local judges and how they approach different types of cases. While no guaranty of a successful outcome can ever be made, Mark has a successful track record of obtaining dismissals or arranging for plea bargains (subject to court approval) for lesser charges and penalties, as well as securing “not guilty” verdicts for clients.
Mark has a reputation for being a tenacious litigator who knows how to get positive results in traffic citation cases. He will not hesitate to go to trial if a client wishes to contest guilt, and he will aggressively fight for the best outcome possible.
Call Our Office Today – 24/7 – to Schedule a Free Consultation with a Marion Speeding and Reckless Driving Attorney!
We have a passion for helping clients obtain better outcomes in reckless driving, speeding, and traffic citation cases. At The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt, we will do everything in our power in seeking to get you a favorable outcome for your ticket.
To get started, please contact our firm to schedule a complimentary consultation. We are available 24 hours a day to answer your call, so please feel free to contact us day or night.
We look forward to speaking with you!
 Marion Tourism: Best of Marion, Tripadvisor, https://www.tripadvisor.com/Tourism-g57932-Marion_Virginia-Vacations.html.
 VA Code § 46.2-862, https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter8/section46.2-862/.
 VA Code § 46.2-868, https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter8/section46.2-868/ January 1, 2021) Reckless driving; penalties (virginia.gov).
We hired Mr. Hurt to help settle a worker’s comp injury case for my husband. Mark, Bart, and Mary worked tirelessly to resolve his case and reach a settlement we were pleased with. They were always available to answer questions and returned calls in a timely manner.