Smyth County Speeding Ticket Lawyer & Marion Reckless Driving Attorney
The ramifications of speeding and reckless driving vary significantly in severity and potential penalties in Virginia. For example, a reckless driving charge for speeding can result in a suspension of driving privileges, a misdemeanor or felony criminal record, steep fines, and even incarceration. In contrast, lesser speeding charges may lead to demerit points and fines. Because the penalties can be severe, if you are cited for speeding or reckless driving in Marion, it is critical to consult with an experienced speeding ticket lawyer as soon as possible.
Smyth County speeding ticket lawyer and Marion reckless driving attorney Mark Hurt has helped countless residents and visitors fight for reduced penalties and dismissals for years. At our firm, we understand the trust that our clients place in us, and we are devoted to fighting tenaciously in seeking the most favorable outcome possible.
We assist and represent clients in a variety of traffic citation cases, including (but not limited to):
- Reckless driving
- DUI or DWI
- Driving without a license or with a suspended License
- Running stop signs or lights
- Broken taillights
Call our office – day or night – to schedule a free consultation. Mark can review your case, explain your legal options, and aggressively advocate on your behalf for reduced penalties or a dismissal.
How Much Does a Marion Speeding Ticket Attorney Cost?
Many firms charge clients by the hour, often racking up fees that exceed the fines associated with a charge. Although obtaining a dismissal in some instances is priceless (as they can have lifelong ramifications), we firmly believe that quality legal representation should not be costly. For this reason, we offer affordable fixed-fee representation in traffic citation cases, and we accept credit card payments.
I Was Issued a Ticket for Speeding, but The Citation Says Reckless Driving. Should I Be Concerned?
When most individuals think of speeding violations, they envision people going a few miles over the limit and receiving a simple traffic ticket. However, in Virginia, a speeding ticket can be a serious criminal charge if you were cited going 20 mph or more over the posted speed limit, or if you were cited going over 85 mph (regardless of the speed limit). In either of these cases, you will have received a ticket for reckless driving, which is a Class 1 misdemeanor, even if you were only going 86 mph in a 70 mph zone.
What Else Constitutes Reckless Driving?
In addition to speeding, an individual can also be convicted of reckless driving for a variety of non-speeding reasons, including:
- Operating a car with faulty brakes;
- Driving without a clear view;
- Passing a vehicle in a single lane;
- Passing at a railroad crossing;
- Endangering others;
- Passing a stopped bus;
- Failing to use proper signals;
- Failing to yield the right-of-way; and
If convicted of reckless driving, you could incur severe penalties, including:
- Fine up to $2,500;
- Loss of driving privileges;
- Class 1 misdemeanor (or Class 6 felony if driving with a suspended license or if a person is fatally wounded);
- Increased insurance premiums;
- Demerit points on a driving record;
- Driver safety classes;
- Incarceration up to 12 months.
DON’T IGNORE YOUR TICKET! Virginia reports traffic citations to other states, meaning that your driving privileges could be jeopardized in other territories as well.
How Do I Know What the Speed Limit is in Marion, VA if There is No Sign?
On roads where there is no posted speed limit, the statutory speed limit (set by Virginia law) is the legal speed limit. Under Virginia law, this means that the speed limit on most highways is 55 mph, and 45 mph for trucks on routes numbered 600 or above. In business or residential areas, the speed limit decreases to 25 mph. Notwithstanding these limits, the maximum speed limit can be significantly higher where indicated by lawfully placed signs.
What Are Demerit Points in Smyth County?
If convicted of a traffic offense, the court notifies the Smyth County DMV. The DMV does the following:
- Posts a conviction on a driving record;
- Assigns demerit points according to the severity of a charge;
- Issues an order of suspension (if applicable);
- Issues an order requiring the completion of a driving course (if applicable); and
- Notifies an insurance company regarding the charge.
Demerit points are assigned in accordance with the severity of a traffic charge. For example, a reckless driving conviction will result in six points, while an improper passing charge will only lead to three points. The length of time that a conviction stays on a record also depends on the severity of a violation. In the case of a serious offense, the conviction will be reported for eleven years.
Insurance companies calculate premiums based on driving history and whether an individual is considered a risk to insure. As such, repeated moving violations can lead to significant increases in premiums or even loss of benefits. To avoid long-term ramifications such as these, it is critical to fight for no or few demerit points, which is why simply paying a ticket uncontested is often not wise.
Should I Pay My Ticket Before Court in Virginia?
A first offense speeding ticket costs $8 per mile above the speed limit, along with a $51 processing fee. It is important to note that if a fine is paid ahead of a court date, such payment is treated as an admission of guilt and a trial waiver. As such, the opportunity to fight a charge can be lost. Additionally, there can be ancillary long-term consequences of simply paying a fine, such as increased insurance premiums, a license suspension, a criminal record, and a tarnished driving record.
Instead of paying a ticket, we strongly urge individuals to reach out to our office to learn about the various options for seeking a reduction in penalties or dismissal, or even challenging a ticket at trial. Duke Law graduate and firm-founding attorney Mark Hurt is known as a tenacious litigator with an enviable track record of success in helping clients obtain favorable outcomes.
If you received a traffic citation, we invite you to call our office to schedule a complimentary consultation. In many cases, Mark can convince a court not to suspend a license, even when the charge would typically call for an automatic suspension.
Call The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt to Schedule a Free Traffic Ticket Consultation!
Smyth county traffic attorney Mark Hurt is experienced and familiar with the local Marion court system. As such, he can provide specific legal advice tailored to the jurisdiction. At The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt, we handle speeding tickets, reckless driving charges, DUI and DWI, and other traffic violations. Call us today to schedule a complimentary case evaluation to learn about your options for mitigating damages and our low, fixed-fee representation.
 VA Code § 46.2-862.
 Why Are There Speed Limits?, VirginiaDot.org, http://www.virginiadot.org/info/faq-speedlimits.asp#:~:text=The%20statutory%20speed%20limit%20is%20the%20legal%20speed,a%20maximum%20speed%20limit%20of%2035%20mph%20applies.
 VA Code § 46.2-870.
 Moving Violations and Point Assessments, Virginia DMV, https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#points_assess.asp.