Marion, Virginia Traffic Lawyer Mark Hurt – FAQs about Speeding and Other Charges
Situated in the Blue Ridge of the Southern Appalachian Mountains in Southwest Virginia, Marion is known for its beautiful scenery and smooth roads. The scenic roadways are often a temptation for drivers to speed and test their vehicles, or to simply inadvertently exceed the speed limit. When this happens, and a ticket is issued, a driver may not know their options or what they should do.
Is it best to pay the ticket or to fight it? What are the consequences of either option? Will I have to go to court? Is there a lawyer who can help me who will be affordable and who offers a flat rate? Is there a lawyer who I can talk to for free to get my questions answered?
How Much Does an Experienced Marion, Virginia Traffic Lawyer Cost?
At The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt, we offer competitive and affordable fixed-fee representation in traffic citation cases. This means that you will pay the same fee for our legal services, regardless of whether your case goes to trial. We also accept credit card payments.
We also offer a free consult, so that you can get your questions answered. We’re available 24/7 to schedule this consult, so feel free to call us. As a Marion, VA traffic lawyer with over 25 year of legal practice, firm founding attorney Mark Hurt understands how to tenaciously fight for reduced charges, fines, dismissals, and other favorable outcomes. Once we know about your ticket, we can explain how we can help.
In the interim, this article explains about Virginia traffic law.
How Many Traffic Tickets are Issued in Virginia Each Year?
Virginia has some of the strictest traffic laws in the country, resulting in over 40,000 traffic citations being issued each year. Nationwide, millions of traffic tickets are issued in America every year. In fact, 125,000 people in the United States receive a traffic citation every day. The average fine costs between $150 and $300, but drivers can be charged up to $2,000 or more (depending on the offense), along with other penalties.
Remember – the Speed Limits Vary from State to State
Virginia highways have a maximum speed limit of 70 mph; other states have higher limits. Even within Virginia, the speed limits will be drastically reduced in certain sections (such as when an interstate cuts through a town), and not all highways have a 70 mph speed limit.
How Fast Can I Drive on Highways, Business Districts, and Residential Areas in Marion?
Marion law enforcement officers are known for aggressively enforcing speed limits, including setting up speed traps along Interstate 81, North Main Street, and other high-traffic areas. The following statutory speed limits are the legal speed limits unless otherwise posted:
- 25 mph: Business Districts
- 25 mph: Residential Areas
- 35 mph: Unpaved Roads
- 45 mph: Trucks on Routes Numbered 600 or higher
- 55 mph: Most Highways
- 65 mph: Urban Interstates and Freeways
- 70 mph: Rural Interstates and Freeways
- Posted Limited: School Zones
In Marion, individuals caught speeding may be fined $8 for every mile driven over the limit. In cases involving excessive speeding, a violator may also have their license suspended, incur demerit points on their driving record, and face jail time.
What is Reckless Driving in Virginia?
Any person who drives a vehicle on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person can be found guilty of reckless driving. In Virginia, this includes driving at a speed of 20 miles per hour over the applicable speed limit, or in excess of 85 miles per hour (regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit).
If convicted of reckless driving, an individual may face severe penalties, including:
- Fine up to $2,500
- License suspension up to 2 years
- Class 1 Misdemeanor or Class 6 Felony
- Six demerit points on a driving record
- Increased insurance premiums
- Incarceration up to 1 year
It’s important to understand that a reckless driving conviction – even if it’s only the result of speeding – is a criminal offense. In Virginia, a reckless driving conviction will stay on a person’s permanent record, as Virginia does not allow for expungement. Thus this record will show up in a background search, such as for a job application.
As a result, reckless driving charge is severe and can damage an individual’s professional and personal life.
At The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt, we understand. This is why experienced Marion traffic lawyer Mark Hurt has a reputation for being an aggressive litigator who knows how to negotiate for lessened penalties and dismissals, as well as defending clients at trial and seeking not guilty verdicts. If you have received a citation for reckless driving, we invite you to call our office as soon as possible to schedule a free consultation and learn how we can help.
What Are the Penalties for Driving Without a License?
We highly recommend that individuals never drive without a license, as this opens the door for jail time or a costly penalty. In Virginia, driving without a license is a Class 2 misdemeanor, and it carries a fine up to $1,000. Drivers who are caught driving without a license for a second time can be fined up to $2,500, receive a Class 1 misdemeanor on their record, and have their vehicle impounded for a minimum of 30 days. The fines and potential jail time increase with each repeated offense; thus, you should always keep your driver’s license with you.
How Can The Law Offices of Mark T. Hurt Help With My Traffic Ticket?
Attorney Mark Hurt is known professionally for having graduated in the top 10% of his class at Duke University School of Law, and for being a tenacious Virginia traffic attorney with a successful track record for helping clients obtain substantially lower penalties and dismissals.
If you received a traffic citation, please call us to schedule a free consultation to learn about your legal options for contesting the charge and how we can help. Firm founder Mark Hurt is dedicated to seeking the best result for all clients – including seeking dismissal, not guilty verdicts, and reduced fines and penalties.
 Speed Limits, Virginia Department of Transportation, http://www.virginiadot.org/info/faq-speedlimits.asp.
 VA Code § 46.2-852, https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title46.2/chapter8/section46.2-852/#:~:text=2-852.%20Reckless%20driving%3B%20general%20rule.%20Irrespective%20of%20the,any%20person%20shall%20be%20guilty%20of%20reckless%20driving.